State Open Government Hall of Fame

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /nfs/c09/h03/mnt/129647/domains/ on line 906.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_content_plugin_display_panel_pane::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin_display::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /nfs/c09/h03/mnt/129647/domains/ on line 403.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, $options) in /nfs/c09/h03/mnt/129647/domains/ on line 744.

“Heroes of the 50 States”

Next Nomination deadline: July 20, 2018

2017 Inductee

Previous inductees

2016   Sam D. Kennedy - Tennessee
2015   Pete Weitzel — Florida
2014   John Paff —  New Jersey
2013   Brian Sonntag —  Washington
2012   Toby Nixon  —  Washington
2011   John R. Finnegan Sr.  —  Minnesota
2010   Robert J. Freeman  —  New York
2009   Mitchell W. Pearlman  —  Connecticut
2008   Bill F. Chamberlin  —  Florida
2007   Frosty Landon  —  Virginia
2006   Byron M. Baer  —  New Jersey
2005   John Kuglin  —  Montana 
2004   Herb Strentz  —  Iowa
2003   Michael Donoghue  —  Vermont
2003   Sue Hale  —  Oklahoma
2003   Robert Johnson  —  New Mexico
There are heroes among us. They are heroes who may or may not be well known within their respective states and communities, but whose labors have gone largely unrecognized elsewhere. They are heroes whose efforts have kept state and local government records and meetings open and accessible to their fellow citizens.

Heroes of the 50 States: The State Open Government Hall of Fame is a joint venture by the Society of Professional Journalists and the National Freedom of Information Coalition. It was developed by leaders in both organizations as a way to recognize long-term contributions of individuals to open government in their respective states.

Specifically, induction into the Hall recognizes “long and steady effort to preserve and protect the free flow of information about state and local government that is vital to the public in a democracy.”

Formal induction occurs at the annual  FOI Summit.


The State Open Government Hall of Fame is open to anyone who has made a substantial, sustained and lasting contribution to open government or freedom of information within one particular state. Even if the nominee has been active in national efforts or national organizations, the judges will only consider accomplishments at the state level.

Nominees may come from government, the media, the non-profit sector, the legal profession, or any other area of endeavor that involves citizen access to government records, meetings and procedures.

Nominees may be living or deceased; active or retired.


Deadline for nominations for the 2018 Hall of Fame is July 20 2018.

All nominations should include the following:

  • Cover letter identifying the nominee and the person or group making the nomination.
  • Adequate support material to demonstrate the worthiness of the nominee.

Please send all nominations material to:

  • "Heroes of the 50 States"
  • c/o NFOIC
  • Missouri School of Journalism
  • 101E Reynolds Journalism Institute
  • Columbia, MO 65211
  • Phone (573) 882-4856


All nominations are evaluated by a Screening/Selector Committee that includes a representative of SPJ, a representative of NFOIC and at least one additional at-large Selector. To ensure the integrity of the process, Screeners/Selectors only become known to each other in the latter stages of judging in any given year.